Virtual Read for the Record Day Schedule

Join us for our full line-up of events as part of our first-ever virtual Read for the Record day!

Check back on this page for links to all the events, posted in real-time after they occur.
Follow us on social media to get the latest updates!

11:00am ET
(8:00am PT)

Opening Remarks

Jumpstart CEO Naila Bolus & Jumpstart National Board Member Nigel Barker – Watch here!

12:00pm ET
(9:00am PT)

Virtual Reading (15 minutes)

Literacy Champion Meena Harris reads Evelyn Del Rey Is Moving Away – Watch here!

12:30pm ET
(9:30am PT)

Open Activity Session – Friendship Bracelets (30 minutes)

Follow along with Worcester State University Jumpstart Corps Member Ellie as she makes friendship bracelets, or use this time for your own activities – Watch here!

1:00pm ET
(10:00am PT)

Virtual Panel for Educators (1 hour)

Encountering Change: A Conversation on Early Learning in the Midst of COVID-19 – Watch here!

2:00pm ET
(11:00am PT)

LIVE Virtual Reading (15 minutes)

Live read aloud of Evelyn Del Rey Is Moving Away with Literacy Champion Nigel Barker – Watch here!

2:30pm ET
(11:30am PT)

Animated Video – Evelyn Del Rey Is Moving Away & Evelyn Del Rey se muda

Dreamscape Media brings the story to life in both English & Spanish (includes subtitles)

3:00pm ET
(12:00pm PT)

LIVE Virtual Reading With the Author (English – 15 minutes)

Meet and read aloud with Meg Medina, author – Evelyn Del Rey Is Moving Away – in English.

3:15pm ET
(12:15pm PT)

LIVE Virtual Reading With the Author (Spanish – 15 minutes)

Meg Medina reads her book in Spanish.

3:30pm ET
(12:30pm PT)

Open Activity Session – Letter Writing (30 minutes)

Follow along with St. Mary’s College Jumpstart Corps Member Valeria as she creates letters to send to loved ones – (Bilingual activity in English & Spanish) – Watch here!

4:00pm ET
(1:00pm PT)

Cooking Up Care Packages (30 minutes)

Follow along with Master Chef Junior Winner, Che Spiotta, as he shows you how to make special treats to send to loved ones in a care package – Watch here!

6:00pm ET
(3:00pm PT)

Family Yoga at Home (30 minutes)

Join Yoga & Wellness Influencer Sjana Elise for a yoga exercise you can practice at home with a young child – Watch here!

Together, we can help all children build the key language and literacy skills they need to take on the world.

Donate Now