2021 Read for the Record Virtual Celebration

Join us for our full line-up of events as part of our virtual Read for the Record celebration!

Check back on this page for links to all the events, posted in real-time after they occur.
Connect with us on social media to get the latest updates!

October 26

7:30pm EST
(4:30pm PST)

LIVE 2nd Annual Read for the Record Panel Discussion

Jumpstart’s Board of Directors Co-Chair Kim L. Mitchell will moderate this conversation between early education experts who will discuss the importance of children seeing themselves reflected in picture books, why champions of early literacy must share diverse books, and how to select inclusive picture books that build empathy and connection between all children. Watch here!

Read for the Record Day Virtual Celebration

12:00 – 1:00 PM EST | 9:00 – 10:00 AM PST

October 28

12:00pm EST
(9:00am PST)

LIVE Opening Remarks with Nigel Barker and Naila Bolus 

Kick off Read for the Record day celebrations! Hear from Jumpstart’s CEO Naila Bolus and Jumpstart National Board Member, Nigel Barker. Join on Facebook!

October 28

12:05pm EST
(9:05am PST)

LIVE Virtual Reading with the Author (English)

Follow along as author Kat Zhang reads Amy Wu and the Patchwork Dragon  

October 28

12:15pm EST
(9:15am PST)

Virtual Reading with the Author (Mandarin) 

Follow along as author Kat Zhang reads Amy Wu and the Patchwork Dragon. View here!

October 28

12:25pm EST
(9:25am PST)

DIY Activity at Home: Make a Lion or Dragon

Both lions and dragons are important symbols in Chinese culture and are often used in Chinese New Year celebration dances to bring luck and drive out evil. The difference with each animal involves the length and number of members involved. Follow along with Mae-Chu and create your own lion or dragon head using household crafts and materials before leading your own dance rendition! This instructional activity is brought to you by our friends at The Nuwa Athletic Club and Pao Arts Center of the Boston Chinatown Neighborhood Center. View here!

October 28

12:35pm EST
(9:35am PST)

Concert with Award-Winning Musical Duo Wendy and DB 

Sing and dance along as our partner, musical duo Wendy and DB perform fun and educational tunes that celebrate themes from Amy Wu’s story! View here.

October 28

12:50pm EST
(9:50am PST)

Community Reading of Amy Wu and the Patchwork Dragon 

A reading compilation by our Read for the Record Literacy Champions and Jumpstart friends 

Supplemental Activities 

Family Treasures: Story-Telling with Jumpstart’s AAPI Affinity Group Members – View Here!

Patchwork Dragon Parade led by Jumpstart Fresno – Watch Here!

Make Dragon Masks with Jumpstart Corps Member Dolores Watch Here!

Literacy Champion Nina West Reads Amy Wu and the Patchwork Dragon – Watch Here!

Together, we can help all children build the key language and literacy skills they need to take on the world.

Donate Now